Dry Spray/Orange Peel
Photo 
Hi guys thought to drop a line as there is not much activity on the forum at present.

My Velox L Type was given a ground up restoration in New Zealand I guess some fifteen ago, the paintwork appears to be a very nice job except for the complete offside wing which suffered from dry spray caused by (according to my web research) spraying in hot weather or onto a hot surface, this feels like sandpaper when wiping your hand across but not really noticeable except under closer inspection in good light.
   I have tried to ignore it but it bugged me repeatedly as it caught my eye every time I walked past, anyway I decided to bite the bullet and have a go repairing it although I have never tried working on paintwork before, so genning up on the subject I managed to do a satisfactory job as I describe below.
    First I acquired the following materials:- Wet and Dry 1500 and 3000 grit, Farecia G3 Regular Grade and G10 Finishing Paste Compound. I then 1/3 filled a bucket of rainwater with a dash of washing up liquid and then wrapped 1500 grit paper around a cloth covered sponge and with trepidation proceeded to sand down the wing with copious amount of water horizontally, drying of with a towel occasionally to check on how much of the dry spray I had taken off till the wing was nice and smooth with no imperfections, then repeated with 3000 grit rubbing down vertically to clear any abrasions left by the 1500 grit using a fresh bucket of slightly soapy water, then washed down and dried off with a towel. Next using a wet buffing pad and copious amounts G3 paste spread evenly over the pad, rigorously polished the area and then repeated with a new pad with G10 finishing compound. Finally feeding the paint with Maguiars mirror glaze then finishing with Maguiars NXT Tech Wax.